SimplyCool

 

Katana 4

The spirit of the japanese sword inspired the naming of our famous CPU Cooler Katana. Well known for its' reliability and its tilted fin structure Katana 4, just like the japanese sword, looks back on a long tradition. The 4th. generation stands out with its new, modern design combining key features of previous versions with design and efficiency improvements. The low height as well as the structure of the fins and the use of three heatpipes are adopted from its' predecessors. In addition, the new design lays the foundation for higher cooling performance by providing larger cooling surface and the possibility to mount a second fan. The Katana 4 is equipped with a 92 mm Slip Stream fan operated by the PWM signal of the mainboard, circulating at 300 to 2500 rpm. This combination enables virtually silent mode as well as overclocking, by providing sufficient cooling ressources for almost all environments. The Katana 4 is compatible with all current sockets.

Product Images

Katana 4Katana 4Katana 4Katana 4Katana 4Katana 4Katana 4Katana 4Katana 4Katana 4

Specifications

Model Name:
Katana 4

Model Number:
SCKTN-4000

Compatibility:
Intel®:
Socket LGA2011 / 2011-v3 (Square ILM)
Socket T / LGA775
Socket LGA1150
Socket LGA1155
Socket LGA1156
Socket LGA1366

AMD®:
Socket 754
Socket 939
Socket 940
Socket AM2
Socket AM2+
Socket AM3
Socket AM3+
Socket FM1
Socket FM2
Socket FM2+

Dimensions:
100 x 102.5 x 143 mm / 3.94 x 4.04 x 5.63 in

Overall Weight:
480 g / 16.93 oz (including fan)

Accessory:
2x Metal Assembly Clip (Intel), 2x Metal Assembly Clip (AMD / 2011), 2x 2011 Retention Brackets, 4x Retention Bracket Screws, Thermal Grease, Installation Guide

Material of Base Plate:
Nickel-plated copper (more information)

 

Fan Specifications

Dimensions of Fan:
92 x 92 x 25 mm / 3.62 x 3.62 x 0.98 inch

Noise Level:
7.2 - 31.07 dBA

Air Flow:
12 - 95 m³/h = 6.7 - 55.55 CFM

Fan Speed:
300 - 2,500 rpm (regulated via PWM)

Static Pressure:
7.35~22.46 Pa / 0.75~2.29 mmH2O




A short presentation of the Katana 4 CPU cooler.

Features

Improved Performance

Higher cooling performance is one of the characteristics of 4th generation Katana CPU cooler. The combination of 3 heatpipes, large fins and a PWM-controlled Slip Stream 92 mm fan ensures high-scale heat dissipation. A slightly angled fin structure, allows the airstream to hit the surface directly. Overall surface of the heatsink has been increased.

 

Compatibility

As it is common practice for all Scythe products, Katana 4 provides maximum compatibility. All current sockets are supported. Furthermore, a new generation one-touch clip system is launched with Katana 4 excelling in user friendliness and durability.

 

New Look

To be released in a completely new design, Katana 4 provides a new, modern look. The fan is situated right-angled to the motherboard and fins are tilted downward. Heatsink and Heatpipes are completely redesigned. Optical enhancements go hand in hand with practical improvements. Better cooling performance is one of them.

 

Compact Design

The bias of the new design originates in one simple question. How to build a new, modern looking Katana-style CPU cooler, without sacrificing the compact dimensions of its predecessor. Katana 4 transports this idea into reality. The measurements are very similar to Katana 3, allowing, as before, the use in limited space environments.

 

Awards

SimplyCool

 

Katana 4

Das japanische Schwert stand Pate bei der Namensgebung des CPU Kühlers Katana, der bekannt ist für seine hohe Zuverlässigkeit und sein Design mit den geneigten Kühllamellen. Inzwischen kann der Katana, ebenso wie das japanische Schwert, auf eine lange, erfolgreiche Tradition zurückblicken. Die 4. Generation bietet ein neues, modernes Design, ohne jedoch auf die Schlüsselmerkmale der Vorgängermodelle zu verzichten. So bleibt die Bauhöhe gleich, die Struktur der Kühllamellen weiterhin geneigt und wie beim Katana 3 kommen 3 Heatpipes zum Einsatz. Mit dem neuen Design konnte einerseits die Kühlleistung gesteigert werden, andererseits ist es nun möglich, einen zweiten Lüfter anzubringen. Im Lieferumfang befindet sich ein PWM-gesteuerter Slip-Stream Lüfter, der im Bereich von 300 - 2500 upm zirkuliert. Diese Kombination erlaubt sowohl besonders leisen Betrieb als auch Overclocking und bietet ausreichende Kühllung für fast alle Systeme. Dabei bleibt der Katana 4 kompakt und bietet Kompatibilität zu allen am Markt befindlichen Sockeln.

Produktbilder

Katana 4Katana 4Katana 4Katana 4Katana 4Katana 4Katana 4Katana 4Katana 4Katana 4

Spezifikationen

Modellname:
Katana 4 CPU Kühler

Modellnummer.:
SCKTN-4000

Kompatibilität:
Intel®:

Sockel LGA2011 / 2011-v3 (Square ILM)
Sockel T / LGA775
Sockel LGA1150
Sockel LGA1155
Sockel LGA1156
Sockel LGA1366

AMD®:
Sockel 754
Sockel 939

Sockel 940
Sockel AM2
Sockel AM2+
Sockel AM3
Sockel AM3+
Sockel FM1
Sockel FM2

Sockel FM2+

Gesamtmaße:
100 x 102,5 x 143 mm

Gesamtgewicht:
480 g

Zubehör:
2x Metallbefestigungsklemme (Intel), 2x Metallbefestigungsklemme (AMD/2011), 2x 2011 Halterungsklemme, 4x Schrauben für Halterungsklemmen, Wärmeleitpaste, Einbauanleitung

Material der Bodenplatte:
vernickelter Kupferboden (mehr Infos)


Lüfter-Spezifikationen

Modellname:
Slip Stream 92 PWM

Modell-Nr.:
SY9225SL12M-P

Lüftermaße:
92 x 92 x 25 mm

Geräuschpegel:
7,2 - 31,07 dBA

Luftdurchsatz:
6,7 - 55,55 CFM - 12 - 95 m³/h

Lüfterdrehzahl:
300 - 2.500 upm (PWM-gesteuert)

Statischer Druck:
7.35~22.46 Pa / 0.75~2.29 mmH2O

 




Eine kurze Präsentation des Katana 4

Features

Verbesserte Leistung

Die 4. Generation des Katana wartet mit verbesserter Kühlleistung auf. 3 Heatpipes sorgen für den Abtransport der Wärme, ein Slip Stream 92 mm Lüfter, der per PWM-Signal gesteuert wird, bietet ausgezeichnete Belüftung. Die Kühllamellen sind abgewinkelt zum Lüfter angeordnet. Der Luftstrom trifft so auf die Lamellen und kühlt diese direkter. Zudem wurde die Fläche der Kühllamellen vergrößert, was ebenfalls zu einer besseren Kühlleistung beiträgt.

 

Kompatibilität

Wie bei allen Scythe-Produkten üblich, bietet auch der Katana 4 größtmögliche Kompatibilität. Alle gängigen Sockel werden unterstützt. Erstmals kommt auch ein weiterentwickeltes Clipsystem zum Einsatz, welches die Montage noch benutzerfreundlicher gestaltet und für eine lange Lebensdauer sorgt.

 

Neues Design

Ein komplett überarbeitetes Design gibt den Katana 4 ein modernes Erscheinungsbild. Die abgewinkelte Form der Kühllamellen wurde beibehalten, der Kühlkörper und die Heatpipes jedoch neu gestaltet. Der Lüfter sitzt nun rechtwinklig zum Sockel. Dies bringt auch praktischen Nutzen, beispielsweise sind die Kühleigenschaften gegenüber dem Vorgängermodell, noch einmal verbessert worden.

 

Kompakte Maße

Ziel bei der Konstruktion des Katana 4 war es, einen CPU Kühler zu kreieren, der noch bessere Kühleigenschaften bietet, dabei jedoch nicht an Kompaktheit einbüßt. Besonderes Augenmerk wurde deshalb den Maßen gewidmet. Neben der Bauhöhe, die weiterhin 143 mm beträgt, gab es auch sonst nur geringe Veränderungen der Abmessungen. Damit bleibt der Katana 4 ein Kühler, der auch dann verbaut werden kann, wenn das Platzangebot im PC begrenzt ist.

Awards

Reviews

Reviews zum Katana4

02-12-2014 TechnoPowerUp (Englisch)
04-03-2013 DoctorCHAOS
(Spanien)
05-02-2013 El Chapuzas Informatico (Spanien)
19-12-2012 HW Zone (Israel)
06-11-2012 Chip Online Empfehlung (Deutschland)
23-07-2012 hartware.net
(Deutschland)
26-06-2012 Overclockers (Englisch)
20-06-2012 HWMaster (Italien)
10-06-2012 pc-overware (Belgien / Französisch)
28-05-2012 Radeon3D (Deutschland / Forum-Review)