SimplyCool

 


Go Back   Official Scythe Forum > Scythe CPU Coolers > Zipang Series

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-19-2009, 05:15 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Default Scythe Zipang - Fan Problems

I have recently installed the Scythe Zipang on an AMD Phenom II X4 955 / Gigabyte MA790FXT-UD5P System. I am using a Coolermaster Silent Pro M600 for power supply.

Generally, the cooler works fine. However the following problem occurred: From time to time the fan of the Zipang is not moving while when the computer starts up (mostly after beeing turned of over night). I have to open the case and rotate the fan a little bit manually. After closing the case and restarting the system, the fan is rotating normally. Haven't had those problems with the original AMD Cooler.

Opening the case each time gets a bit dull. Help is therefore very much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-20-2009, 10:46 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Default

No solution yet, but I strongly believe I have got the same problem Path has.

When the computer has been off for a while (I don't know for how long it has to be off exactly, but overnight is a sure winner) the fan does not spin up immediately when pressing the power button. Sometimes, but not always, I can see it move just a little. Then, after about 10 seconds (when the BIOS scans the DVD-drives) the fan finally spins up.

This often results in a CPU-fan error message. Even then the fan does not spin at the RPM is it supposed to spin. It takes quite some time (over 10 minutes) before it spins at its correct RPM. Not very convenient if you are using Speedfan.
The funny thing is, that it does seem to spin up immediately when you power off the computer, and then power it on again after a few minutes.

I hope someone can help us.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-22-2009, 03:39 PM
Okiwana Okimoto's Avatar
Marketing & Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 437
Send a message via MSN to Okiwana Okimoto Send a message via Skype™ to Okiwana Okimoto
Default

Hmm,

both use PWM may be ? The Cooler is ok and the fan too. The PWM control change the speed from the fans. If the CPU is cold for example you boot/start the pc the fan will not rotate or it rotate with really low rpm. When the CPU works and the load will be higher, than the fan will rotate with more rpm. Warning can changed in bios. Most times it's ok if you ignore the fan control (PWM) and when you get the error, than disable the option Configuration Hold on F1 Error. Search it and you will be happy.

I hope this will help you
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-22-2009, 08:17 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Hi mr Okimoto, are you saying the Zipang has an onboard temp. sensor and can adjust its fan speed? The motherboard provides the Zipang with 12 volts so it should spin equally fast at all times, shouldn't it?

Could you please clarify what you mean by 'both use PWM'?

Last edited by Jeroen1000; 09-22-2009 at 08:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-23-2009, 06:30 AM
Oli's Avatar
Oli Oli is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Germany, in the middle of Europe
Posts: 1,067
Default

No, he means that PWM also allows the fan to be turned OFF completely if the CPU is just cold. Not Zipang has a sensor but your board. Both support PWM regulation method (fan+board) and the board measures the CPU temp so the it adjusts the rpm accordingly.

The fan will only spin with full speed all the time if you connect it with an adapter directly to the PSU. But as long as PWM control by the board is used the whole rpm range will be used.
__________________
- All comments relating to mainboard / cooler / case compatibility are based on "best guess". -
- Aussagen zur Kühler-Kompatibilität basieren auf unverbindlicher, persönlicher Einschätzung. -

Push Postings will be deleted without notice.

Last edited by Oli; 09-23-2009 at 06:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-23-2009, 06:53 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Default

So, theoretically, if I set the motherboards 3-pin voltage control to DC instead of PWM (I don't know which of both would be the standard setting) I would have full speed too?

I actually have turned off all voltage control assuming the board would output 12V at all times, but perhaps the board isn't playing fair


edit:
But, wait a minute, shouldn't PWM fans have 4 wires? The third wire on the Zipang is there so the board can read its RPM. and there isn't a 4th. May I ask you to explain this a little further please?

Last edited by Jeroen1000; 09-23-2009 at 06:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-24-2009, 08:16 AM
Oli's Avatar
Oli Oli is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Germany, in the middle of Europe
Posts: 1,067
Default

You are completely right so forget about PWM and switch it off in BIOS. The stock Zipang fan runs with 1.000 rpm (+/- 10%) all the time.

This fan can't be regulated by PWM method. Sorry for the chaos. You could then connect it directly to the PSU which will deliver 12V if you don't need the rpm sginal.
__________________
- All comments relating to mainboard / cooler / case compatibility are based on "best guess". -
- Aussagen zur Kühler-Kompatibilität basieren auf unverbindlicher, persönlicher Einschätzung. -

Push Postings will be deleted without notice.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 09-24-2009, 07:24 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Funnily enough I appear to be both wrong and right. It seems (I'm not really 100% sure here) the PWM circuitry can be moved from the fan to the motherboard, allowing all(?) fans to be controlled via PWM.

Ugh, computer stuff must always be confusing. I'll keep posting my experiences and research on this. My curiosity has been sparked
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 09-24-2009, 07:49 PM
Oli's Avatar
Oli Oli is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Germany, in the middle of Europe
Posts: 1,067
Default

If you want other fans to be controlled by PWM although your board only offers one 4-pin PWM fan connector you need to use a splitter cable (PWM-Y-cable) or a system like the one Arctic Cooling offers where you can chain fans.
__________________
- All comments relating to mainboard / cooler / case compatibility are based on "best guess". -
- Aussagen zur Kühler-Kompatibilität basieren auf unverbindlicher, persönlicher Einschätzung. -

Push Postings will be deleted without notice.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 09-25-2009, 04:04 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Actually, what I meant was that all fans (even 2 and 3 wire fans) can be PWM controlled IF the circuitry is present on the mainboard.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Template-Modifications by TMS
Copyrights by Scythe EU GmbH - All rights reserved - 2007

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59