SimplyCool

 


Go Back   Official Scythe Forum > Scythe HDD Cooler > Quiet Drive

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2009, 03:26 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Question QD 2.5 and WD Velociraptor

Are the Western Digital Velociraptor 300GB 2.5" HDD's compatible with the QuietDrive 2.5" ?
Oh, please note I mean the HDD only, not the HDD seated in the 3.5" adapter that comes with the HDD.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-25-2009, 10:25 AM
sumo's Avatar
Product Manager Assistant
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 553
Send a message via MSN to sumo
Default

Hello Fuzzilla,

Welcome to our Support Forum.

First of all i want to ask you which model of the Velociraptor you own:

WD VelociRaptor-SATA-Festplattenlaufwerke mit 300 GB ( WD3000HLFS )
WD VelociRaptor-SATA-Festplattenlaufwerke mit 300 GB ( WD3000GLFS )

The thing is, what we know, that WD doasnt use standard 2.5 HDD dimesions. And if you can, try to give us the dimensions of the hard drive only.

Kind Regards
Chris
Scythe EU GmbH
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-25-2009, 02:13 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Smile

Thank you, glad to be here.

The drives are GFLS series. The physical dimensions according to Western Digital are:

English
Height : 0.590 Inches
Length : 3.94 Inches
Width : 2.75 inches
Weight : 0.48 Pounds

Metric
Height : 15 mm
Length : 100 mm
Width : 69.85 mm
Weight : 219 gm

Looks like the only difference is the VelociRaptor is 5.5mm larger in height.

Last edited by Fuzzilla; 03-25-2009 at 02:30 PM. Reason: Oops, corrected dimensions
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2009, 03:31 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Arrow

Just to clarify, the dimensions are for the physical hard drive only.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2009, 08:07 AM
sumo's Avatar
Product Manager Assistant
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 553
Send a message via MSN to sumo
Default

Hello,

all is clear. The problem is that 15mm is much higher than standard 2.5 inch hard drives - around 5mm. I will try to test this for but now i canot say if it will fit or not.

Kind Regards
Chris
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2009, 08:42 AM
sumo's Avatar
Product Manager Assistant
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 553
Send a message via MSN to sumo
Default

im back,

i try it, and puhh its very tight. It you can dispense of the first aluminum chassis than it could work. So you have to install your Velociraptor streight between the Thermal Pads without the first alu package.

you know what i mean?

Kind Regeards - Chris
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2009, 03:45 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Thumbs up

Yes, I understand.

Thank you for looking into this, there are companies out there that would not have bothered. I appreciate the extra effort.

Oh, for others who read this I think the 150GB VelociRaptor should work, as it is minus one of the two platters in the 300GB version. HTH

Best Regards
Fuzz
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-13-2009, 10:14 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Default

im thinking about buying exactly the same harddrive (300gb without ice-pack).
but iam worried about its noise....

why do u think it works to get the 150gb version into the quiet drive? do they not have the same height?

best regards
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 04-13-2009, 10:31 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Smile

Greets tsingtao,
The 300GB VelociRaptor is 5mm thicker from bottom to top. The QuietDrive is designed for a specific 10mm standard height of a 2.5" HDD.
However, I think I can make it work.

If it works I'll come back & let everyone know how I did it, but it will be a while until I can get around to trying it as I have other more pressing issues right now.

Cheers!

EDIT: Oh, and yes the 150GB is 10mm in height I believe, as it only has one platter to the 300GB's 2 platter design

Last edited by Fuzzilla; 04-13-2009 at 10:33 PM. Reason: Edited to clarify.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 04-14-2009, 11:57 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Default

take ur time...
just don't forget to let us know

but i think there is no difference between one and two platter design.
the western digital website says that they are both 15mm in height.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Template-Modifications by TMS
Copyrights by Scythe EU GmbH - All rights reserved - 2007

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60