SimplyCool

 


Go Back   Official Scythe Forum > Scythe CPU Coolers > Ninja Series

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2010, 09:12 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Default Scythe Ninja 2 rev.b stock thermal paste

Howdy,

Yeah so i bought this cooler and i didnt even know whats thermal paste since yesterday, and so, I read some unboxing and this cooler comes with some kind of thermal paste. And i heard it aint as good as some you could buy separetly.

Is it true? I dont really do any overclocking or anything My upcoming cpu is AMD phenom II 965 BE so you think ill be fine with the stock paste? I live in finland in a very small town so i could only order some paste online somewhere, and again wait few days. I got my computer today so its too late to add it to the order list.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2010, 10:28 AM
Oli's Avatar
Oli Oli is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Germany, in the middle of Europe
Posts: 1,067
Default

Just use the paste that came with the cooler. You could possibly gain about 2-5 degrees Celsius by using a better paste. Airflow etc. has much more influence than any thermal grease you could use.
__________________
- All comments relating to mainboard / cooler / case compatibility are based on "best guess". -
- Aussagen zur Kühler-Kompatibilität basieren auf unverbindlicher, persönlicher Einschätzung. -

Push Postings will be deleted without notice.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2010, 10:47 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oli View Post
Just use the paste that came with the cooler. You could possibly gain about 2-5 degrees Celsius by using a better paste. Airflow etc. has much more influence than any thermal grease you could use.
A'ight man, thanks. Guess i'll be fine with the stock paste then.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2010, 10:51 AM
Oli's Avatar
Oli Oli is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Germany, in the middle of Europe
Posts: 1,067
Default

Good luck and please report your temps when the installation is done.
__________________
- All comments relating to mainboard / cooler / case compatibility are based on "best guess". -
- Aussagen zur Kühler-Kompatibilität basieren auf unverbindlicher, persönlicher Einschätzung. -

Push Postings will be deleted without notice.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2010, 11:39 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oli View Post
Good luck and please report your temps when the installation is done.
Allright, sure. This might be a stupid question but should i use some kind of bencmark program or is gaming enough to get the "load" temperature?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2010, 01:01 PM
Oli's Avatar
Oli Oli is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Germany, in the middle of Europe
Posts: 1,067
Default

You can use e.g. "Orthos Prime". Or the System Stability Test from Lavalys Everest (also works in trial version). Or LinX. All these tools are stressing the CPU.
__________________
- All comments relating to mainboard / cooler / case compatibility are based on "best guess". -
- Aussagen zur Kühler-Kompatibilität basieren auf unverbindlicher, persönlicher Einschätzung. -

Push Postings will be deleted without notice.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2010, 01:08 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Ok cool, I'll try em out.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-23-2010, 05:34 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oli View Post
Good luck and please report your temps when the installation is done.
Ok man, Im finally done with my build and just installed windows 7 64bit.

I had some serious trouble installing the cooler, the other clip thingy just didnt go all the way deep, was really hard putting cause the cooler was so high. anyway, it felt like it was good enough there, hopefully it doesnt drop

ok so i tried the Everest application(trial) and ran the one from tools -> stabiltity test( or something like that) i didnt reallyknow wich one was like a real benchmarking. anyway i only checked the "stress CPU" and clicked start

and i checked the temperatures and on idle i get every core is 28 celsius and on the load i ran the test about 2 mins and the temperature stopped heating at 44. I dont really know did i do anything right :P

Those are the results i got, if theres better way to do it, ill try em out. thanks

Last edited by coldchef21; 03-23-2010 at 05:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-23-2010, 05:36 PM
Oli's Avatar
Oli Oli is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Germany, in the middle of Europe
Posts: 1,067
Default

Results are fine. You can be very content with the performance of your cooler!
__________________
- All comments relating to mainboard / cooler / case compatibility are based on "best guess". -
- Aussagen zur Kühler-Kompatibilität basieren auf unverbindlicher, persönlicher Einschätzung. -

Push Postings will be deleted without notice.

Last edited by Oli; 03-23-2010 at 06:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-23-2010, 05:45 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Default

allright, awesome
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Template-Modifications by TMS
Copyrights by Scythe EU GmbH - All rights reserved - 2007

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60